Our independent, non-compensated Board of Trustees is a group of volunteers with a broad range of professional backgrounds, personal experience with kidney disease, skills and talents. Our Board of Trustees sets AKF's strategic direction and provides appropriate oversight to ensure that we have the plans and the resources in place to carry out our important work.


Jerry D. Klepner, Chair
Maureen Nugent Franco, Chair-elect
Robert M. Tarola, CPA, CGMA, Immediate Past Chair
Julie A. Wright Nunes, M.D., MPH, Chair, Medical Affairs
Larry H. Warren, Treasurer
John B. Moriarty Jr., Esq., Secretary


George Robert Burton III, M.D.
The Honorable Donna M. Christensen, M.D.
Michael W. Flood
Maria A. Grasso
John F. Hanley, CFA
Gregory P. Madison
Pamela W. McNamara
Arthur H. Metcalf II, CPA, ABV, CFF
Elaine Milem
Richard T. Miller, M.D.
Silas P. Norman, M.D., MPH
Lisa A. Robin
William J. Schuyler
Andrew M. Shore
Heidi L. Wagner

Non-voting Member

LaVarne A. Burton, President & CEO, ex-officio