Marsha Stanton, PhD, RN

Marsha Stanton is a registered nurse with a bachelor's degree in Health Services Administration and Education, a Master of Science in Health & Human Services, and a PhD in Health Services Administration and Education. Her career has spanned clinical practice, program development, health professional education, publication planning, alliance development, advocacy for both patients and professionals and legislative engagement. She is nationally known for her work in pain management and the disease of addiction. She has published and presented in these fields on numerous occasions. She has served in leadership roles with the American Society for Pain Management Nursing, Intermountain West Pain Management Nurses, American Society for Pain Management Nursing Southern California chapter, Academy of Integrative Pain Management, American Academy of Pain Medicine, and Pain Management Education Consultants. In her industry positions, she was responsible for professional education of healthcare prescribers and others, including consumer and community programming at national, regional, and international levels. Previously she has served on the advisory councils for several professional associations, including CLAAD, AAPA, AANP, NADDI, NASCSA, MIDAS, Gatekeeper technologies and others. In 2006, she received the Distinguished Service Award from the American Society for Pain Management Nursing (ASPMN) and in 2016 she received the Lifetime National Advocacy award from ASPMN. In 2009 she received the first Educator of the Year award for Industry, given by the American Society of Pain Educators and in 2010 was given the Educator of the Year award by the National Association for Drug Diversion Investigators. Ms. Stanton has been actively involved in the American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM) Foundation as its Secretary/Treasurer since its inception and was awarded the Distinguished Service award from AAPM in 2014. She currently serves on the board of directors as President for the International Health Facility Diversion Association (IHFDA). She was the 2018 recipient of the President's award from ASPMN.