Our Board, Executive Team and Leadership Team members are deeply committed to helping people fight kidney disease and live healthier lives. They leverage their knowledge and talents from the medical and nonprofit communities, as well as the public sector and private sectors, to help AKF achieve its mission.

Board of Trustees

Our independent, non-compensated Board of Trustees is a group of volunteers with a broad range of professional backgrounds, personal experience with kidney disease, skills and talents. Our Board of Trustees sets AKF's strategic direction and provides appropriate oversight to ensure that we have the plans and the resources in place to carry out our important work.


Gail S. Wick, MHSA, BSN, RN, CNNe, Chair

Robert M. Tarola, Chair-Elect

John P. Butler, Immediate Past Chair

Orlando M. Gutiérrez, M.D., M.M.Sc., Chair, Medical Affairs

John F. Weidenbruch, Esq., Treasurer

Jerry D. Klepner, Secretary


Maureen Nugent Franco, Member-at-Large

Akhtar Ashfaq, M.D., FACP, FASN

Stephen M. Gansler

Maria A. Grasso

Yoshio N. Hall, M.D., MS

Alan B. Leichtman, M.D.

Robert B. Lewis III

Arthur H. Metcalf II, CPA, ABV, CFF

John B. Moriarty Jr., Esq.

Frank D. Pelliccione

Matthew G. Poffenroth, M.D., MBA

William J. Schuyler

M. Craig Shepherd

Rahsaan W. Thompson, Esq.

Larry H. Warren

Non-voting Member

LaVarne A. Burton, President & CEO, ex-officio

Return to top

Executive Team

Under the leadership of President and CEO LaVarne A. Burton, our Executive Team brings an unwavering mission focus to the management of AKF, ensuring the organization delivers programs and services that are effective and that meet the evolving needs of patients.

Return to top

Leadership Team

Our Leadership Team provides the leadership that puts AKF's values into action: putting patients first, leading with integrity, being a valued partner, promoting team excellence and increasing awareness of kidney disease.

Patient Services and Kidney Disease Education
Gwendolyn Dewberry, Senior Director of Patient Services Programs
Nanyamka Hales, Director of Health Initiatives
Jeremy Abbundi, Director of Patient Services

Public Affairs
Alice Andors, Senior Director of Communications
Christopher Copley, Director of Marketing

Government Relations 
Deborah Darcy, Director of Government Relations

Development and Field Operations
Chris Hines, Senior Director of Direct Donor Engagement
Fiona Lawless, Senior Director of Corporate Engagement
Tracy Shaw, Senior Director of Community Engagement
Ben Clausen, Director of Corporate Engagement
Arlene Dayboch, Director of the Northeast Region
Daniell Griffin, Director of Individual Giving
Martin McNutt, Director of Community Engagement

Finance and Operations
Jack Cunningham, Director of Financial Analysis
Katherine Doyle, Director of Human Resources
Aniceh Zolfagharian, Director of Finance and Administration

Return to top